NAFU North American Football Union Campeones Cup 2018-Present

North American Football Union Logo [Reference: 1]


2018Tigres UANL3Toronto FC1
2019Atlanta United FC3Club America2
NAFU North American Football Union Campeones Cup 2018-Present [References: 1]


Major League Soccer (USA & Canada) and Liga MX (Mexico) Champions played the first Cameones Cup – a single game between the two Champions – in 2018, with Tigres UANL defeating Toronto FC 3-1 in the Final. The following year Atlanta United FC triumphed 3-2 over Club America of Mexico – only the second time an MLS side has defeated a Mexican sidein a Major North American or CONCACAF Final.


The North American Football Union (now defunct) was a regional Association Football (Soccer) Union comprising the Federations of Mexico, USA and Canada.


[1] Pinterest (2020) f7263b33032bb867c1b99868b3bd2217 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 30 October 2020]


[2] Cuttone, Charles & Cuttone, Linda (2020) “Campeones Cup” North American Soccer Guide & Record Book 2020. Sports Vue Interactive LLC, USA. pg 290-291.


Thanks to Jason Caldwell & Paul Foley.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 4 November 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *