President’s Cup International Soccer Tournament 1991

Knockout Rounds

DateHome TeamAway Team
14.06.1991South Korea4Australia3
14.06.1991Egypt2USSR B1
16.06.1991South Korea2Egypt0
[References: 2]

Group Tables

President’s CupPWDLFAPts
Group A
Egypt (SF)32101125
South Korea (SF)3120414
Group B
Australia (SF)3300836
USSR B (SF)3111333
South Korea B3102242
USA Student Games XI3012471
[References: Compiled from results in 2]

Group Results

DateHome TeamAway Team
Group A
07.06.1991South Korea0Egypt0
09.06.1991South Korea3Indonesia0
11.06.1991South Korea1Malta1
Group B
08.06.1991Australia2USSR B1
08.06.1991South Korea B2USA Student Games XI1
10.06.1991Australia4USA Student Games XI2
10.06.1991South Korea B0USSR B1
12.06.1991South Korea B0Australia2
12.06.1991USA Student Games XI1USSR B1
[Reference: 2]


Hosts South Korea won their own Tournament in June 1991, defeating Egypt 2-0 in the Final after drawing with them in the Group Stage. Eight teams entered the Tournament, with Egypt, South Korea, Australia and USSR B qualifying for the Semi-Finals ahead of Malta, Indonesia, South Korea B and a USA Student Games XI.

About the President’s Cup

The President’s Cup is a Preseason Soccer Tournament held every year in South Korea involving top Asian Countries as well as less prominent Nations from Europe or the Rest of the World.



[2] Anon. (1992) “International Results” World Soccer. August 1991. pg. 38-39; 56-57.


Thanks to Richard Costello (Gateway).

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 26 December 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *