Category: Arab Gulf Cup Football Federation

Arab Gulf Cup Football Federation Gulf Cup 2010

Arab Gulf Cup Football Federation Logo [Reference: 1]
Arab Gulf Cup Football Federation Logo [Reference: 1]

Finals Stage Results

DateHome TeamAway Team
02.12.2010Iraq2 (4p)Kuwait2 (5p)
02.12.2010Saudi Arabia1United Arab Emirates0
05.12.2010Kuwait1Saudi Arabia0
[Reference: 2]

Group Tables

Gulf Cup 2010PWDLFAPts
Group A
Kuwait (Q)3210407
Saudi Arabia (Q)3120515
Group B
United Arab Emirates (Q)3120315
Iraq (Q)3120325
[References: 2]

Group Results

DateHome TeamAway Team
Group A
22.11.2010Yemen0Saudi Arabia4
25.11.2010Kuwait0Saudi Arabia0
28.11.2010Saudi Arabia1Qatar1
Group B
23.11.2010Iraq0United Arab Emirates0
26.11.2010United Arab Emirates0Oman0
29.11.2010United Arab Emirates3Bahrain1
[References: 2]


Kuwait won the 20th 2010 Gulf Cup held in Yemen. Having won their group by defeating Qatar and Yemen and drawing with Saudi Arabia they went on to knock Iraq out in the Semi-Finals on penalties before triumphing over Saudi Arabia with a goal by Jumah in injury time in the Final. It was a record 10th title for the Kuwaitis. United Arab Emirates win Group B but were defeated by the Saudis in the Semi-Finals. Oman and Bahrain were the other two teams in the competition.

Kuwait celebrate with the 20th Arab Gulf Cup Trophy in 2010 [Reference: 3][Picture Credit: Ahram Online]

About the Gulf Cup

The Gulf Cup is a Regional Nations Cup in the Gulf region of West Asia, featuring the Arab Nations of Yemen, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Qatar, Kuwait and Iraq. It was first held in 1970 and has been held almost every two years since (the exceptions being1979 in place of 1978 and 1980, and two competitions in 2004, with 2006 and 2008 both held over by a year).



[1] Arab Gulf Cup Football Federation (2020) WhatsApp-Image-2020-11-09-at-10.01.14-AM-780×470 [Internet] Available from:×470.jpeg [Accessed 7 January 2021]

Newspapers / Magazines

[2] Anon. (2000) “Results”.World Soccer. February 2011, pg. 76.


[3] Ahram Online (2010) 2010-634271789703968728-396 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 7 January 2021]


Thanks to Ali-Reza Khodabakhshi and Willie Winters.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 15 February 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.